On Patrol- January 17, 2016

oscars

Academy Award Nominations Released

In the biggest news of the week the nominees were announced for this year’s Academy Awards. For the most part it is fairly predictable. A Pixar movie will win for animated feature, a lot of dramas in the Best Films category and DiCaprio has his best chance of winning yet. Most importantly, as always, there were a ton of snubs. The biggest coming in, of all things, the Best Original Song category. How can you have the category without Wiz Khalifa’s song from Furious 7? Not only was it #1 on the Billboard charts but it has only recently come out of radio rotation. Sure I doubt it would win but to not even get a nod? That’s just crazy. Speaking of hip hop I am astounded that Straight Outta Compton was only nominated for Original Screenplay. Ignoring the score (which blended NWA’s music and instrumental perfectly) it had some amazing performances. Jason Marshall brought Eazy E to life in a way few biopics do. As corny as it sounds at a certain point I stopped seeing an actor and it was just Eazy.

When it comes to behind the camera I’m quite surprised by the omissions in the Best Director category. In particular Quinton Tarantino for Hateful Eight and Ryan Coogler for Creed. While it may not be my favorite Tarantino film there’s no denying that his directing is as great as it’s ever been. Coogler was not only able to emulate a Rocky film but bring it into modern times with a film that is gritty, funny and inspiring all at the same time. Is that not what film should be? Oh well. I should just be happy Mad Max: Fury Road got some recognition.

Source- Complex

cloverfieldlane

10 Cloverfield Lane, Cloverfield Sequel, Announced

Of all the found footage films Cloverfield is one of my favorites. It makes for a pretty fun movie while still being regulated to the found footage genre. Since it’s release I’ve heard rumors have sequels happening. So imagine my surprise to learn that not only was there going to be a sequel but that it was already filmed and had a March release date. Now admittedly this might not actually be a sequel. Described as a “blood relative” of Cloverfield it seems more like a spin off than an actual sequel. No giant monsters, as far as we know, it is being sold as more of a psychological thriller. Regardless I’m more than willing to return to the world of Cloverfield.
Source- Bloody Disgusting

bowie-rickman

RIP David Bowie and Alan Rickman

Last, but certainly not least, is the passing of two legends. Now Bowie I didn’t get into until the past few years. Given I can listen to Space Odyssey at any time but I wouldn’t say I’m the biggest fan. What got me was seeing the clips of him going to bat for black music in the 80’s and 90’s. To hear that someone so respected defend my favorite music genre was so cool. Even cooler was not only was he still making music but still inspired by hip hop. So much so that Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly was a factor in making his final album, Black Star. Little things like this made him all the cooler to me. I’m just sad it took this long for me to realize it. Bowie died after a long battle with cancer at the age of 69.

The other death was actor Alan Rickman. Of all things he is, at least part, of why I got heavy into film. In 1999 I saw Kevin Smith’s film Dogma which features Rickman as the Metatron. Being a middle schooler Smith’s humor appealed to me and it got me not just into his films but other 90’s indie directors like Spike Lee and Tarantino. Sure it was just a role but this was a big deal to me. Now while Rickman was in other stuff I dug and was the best part of Harry Potter the my favorite Alan Rickman film is Die Hard. Sure it’s cliche but I’ve made it a tradition to watch it every Christmas. I’ll stop to watch it when it’s on TV the way everyone else watches Shawshank Redemption. Again a big part of it being Rickman’s performance as Hans Gruber. He’s the perfect villain who can alternate between likable, classy and threatening on a dime. I quote his reading of “ho ho ho” on a weekly basis. Rickman also dying at age 69 of cancer.
Source- io9, BBC

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in On Patrol and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

