On Patrol- September 6, 2015

craven
RIP Wes Craven

If I could pin my love of horror on a single person (or at least director) it would be Wes Craven. As a kid I was actually a pretty big scaredy cat. Despite this I have memories of being at this kid Matt’s house watching the first Nightmare on Elm Street. While I wasn’t fully paying attention to the movie things Tina getting dragged around the room stuck out in my mostly Disney-fed mind. We soon moved out to AZ and I still scared of everything. To the point whee I hated going into the horror section when my mom worked at Hollywood Video (I assure you I’m embarassed by this fact). Then came Scream. I’ve already covered why Scream was instrumental in my film fandom. Without going over it again Scream is pretty much the reason I’m so into the kind of movies I’m into. Without Craven and Scream I wouldn’t be into horror and, most likely, a lot of the genre movies I love. Heck he even influenced my writing a bit considering one of my first reviews was an awful review of My Soul To Take.

Now I’m not going to say Wes Craven is my favorite nor that he’s done nothing but great work. But I am dead serious when I say that Craven and his work have made a huge impact on me and I doubt I would be the same without him.

Source- Dread Central

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

