On Patrol- February 8, 2015

tales_from_the_darkside_the_movie2
New Tales from the Darkside
Every few years a network tries to revive the horror anthology. Whether it’s Masters of Horror on Showtime or the 428 RL Stine based shows horror shows always seem to come back. This week it was revealed that The CW would try their hand at it by reviving Tales from the Darkside. While I haven’t seen too much of the show I absolutely adore the movie. Chock full of stars (Christian Slater, Steve Buscemi and Julianne Moore are in the same skit) I think it’s a fun mix of black humor and horror. Given I don’t think the movie will be awesome enough to have Buster Poindexter get killed by a cat but The CW has been on a roll as of late. If they can have two successful comic book shows and keep Supernatural semi-fresh after 10 seasons I don’t see why they can’t pull this off.
Source- io9

daredevil netflix
Trailer for Daredevil Released
After a trailer for the trailer (I don’t know, just go with it) appeared during Agent Carter we finally got a proper look at the upcoming show based on Daredevil. Set to debut on April 10th the show is will stream all 13 episodes on Netflix. More importantly it set itself apart quite a bit from Agent Carter and Agents of SHIELD. While those shows are more set into the superhero world this show has a more gritty feel to it. They even ditched the more colorful red costume used in the comics for all-black ninja costume from the “Man Without Fear” storyline. Most appealing, at least to me, is the casting. Starring Charlie Cox as Daredevil I am more intrigued by Vincent D’Onofrio as the Kingpin. This bit of casting is absolutely perfect. Add the always reliable Rosario Dawson as Night Nurse and this is shaping up to be a pretty good show.
Source- io9

Poltergeist_remake_still.png.CROP.promovar-mediumlarge
Poltergeist Remake Gets Trailer
This past week the trailer for the Poltergeist remake was relesaed adn I’m… intrigued. On the one hand I dig the look of the movie. I generally dig the crew behind the movie like Sam Raimi as the producer and I’ve heard nothing but good things about director Gil Kenan. We also have Sam Rockwell as one of the adult leads and he can do no wrong. On the other hand as far as I can tell they really didn’t do much with the story. The trailer is pretty much a highlight reel of the original but with a new cast. I’ll try to stay optimistic about the movie but I can easily see it dropping the ball.
Source- Complex

johnwick1
John Wick Sequel in the Works
A surprise hit at the end of last year we now have confirmation that a sequel is in development. Okay that may be jumping the gun a bit. Basically in an interview with Movies.com directors Chad Stahelski and David Leitch said that they were working on a script. While no studios have said outright that a sequel is happening the movie did quite well with audiences and critics. More than tripling it’s budget it’s hard to imagine that a studio wouldn’t jump on the chance to turn John Wick into a full fledged franchise. In a bit of self-plugging if you want to read my thoughts on the first you can read it here.
Source- Badass Digets

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in News and Notes and Such and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

