On Patrol- November 16, 2014

ash-evildead
Ash vs Evil Dead TV Series Announced
While an Evil Dead series announced at Comic Con this year I still had my doubts. No doubt hyped I have heard Raimi and Bruce Cambell talk about a continuation of the Evil Dead franchise for years. Heck there was the whole unifying universe thing with the original Evil Dead and the remake franchise (which apparently is on the backburner). Lo and behold it was announced this week that Ash would be returning for a mini-series on the Starz Network. My only question is, Starz? I realize they’ve put out quality stuff before (Party Down, Spartacus) but it still feels a bit weird to me. Regardless this is exciting news for anybody that loves Deadite killing. Hopefully they can bring in Mia and other elements from the new franchise into the series.
Source- Dread Central

New Fantastic Four as Dumb as Last Movie
While only one character it is one of the stupidest things I’ve heard in quite some time. Like Terminator: Genisys levels of stupid. In an interview Toby Kebbell let out some info on his character, Dr. Doom. It’s too stupid for words. I’ll let these quotes from sum it up.

ff
He’s Victor Domashev, not Victor Von Doom in our story. And I’m sure I’ll be sent to jail for telling you that. The Doom in ours—I’m a programmer. Very anti-social programmer. And on blogging sites I’m “Doom”.
Yeah, it was cool man. Josh [Trank], the whole deal, the lo-fi way he did it, the ultra-real. It was just nice to do that. It was nice to be feeling like we had to come to terms with what was given by this incident.

So he isn’t Victor von Doom, one of the best awful names ever. Nor is he attempting world domination. He’s a dude that works IT and trolls blogs. What the hell? That isn’t a super villain; that’s a Youtube troll. It’s bad when you make the idea of a dictator that’s also part wizard sound less stupid.

On a total side note the first google images for Fantastic Four relate to the movies from a few years back. How insanely depressing is that?
Source- io9

tarantino
Tarantino To Retire after 10th Film
Well 11th if you count Kill Bill as two movies. At the American Film Market for foreign buyers Tarantino announced his intentions to retire after three more movies. Interesting since he’s only 51 when some of the generation before (Scorcese comes to mind) are still putting out amazing stuff. He mentioned being more interested in being a playwright and novelist which sounds insane to me. If Andrew Lloyd Webber will have a chandelier fall what would Tarantino do? I have no clue if this is something he’ll go through (remember the Vega Brothers movie?) but if so it’ll be a sad day when he finally hangs it up.
Source- Den of Geek

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in News and Notes and Such and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

