On Patrol- August 7, 2014

Before I get started I want to give a huge shout out to Dead Homer Society for spotlighting my entry about the FXX Simpsons Marathon. If you’ve never been there before it’s an interesting look at The Simpsons and what happened to the series and well worth your time.

joanrivers
Joan Rivers Passes Away at 81
For me Joan Rivers is a funny case. By the time I was introduced to her she was a caricature on The Simpsons asking Darla how she was after getting out of rehab. Hell I wasn’t even born during her stand up hey day. To me she was a just the fashion lady with way too much work done. That is until a couple of years ago when I watched the documentary Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work. Seeing how hard this woman worked and her famous cabinet of jokes really made me appreciate all the hard work she put into her stand up.

I also found her absolute lack of give a fuck admirable. She’d go makes jokes about anything from Beyonce to Ariel Castro’s kidnapping victims to her own husband’s suicide. It may be trashy or unbecoming but she didn’t care. When it pissed people off she’d go harder and I find that admirable. As crazy as it sounds her attitude of honesty and never apologizing for a joke really is something to look up to.
Source- Huffington Post

walkingdead
Walking Dead Companion Pilot Ordered
After talk of early development late last year we finally got word of AMC ordering a pilot for the Walking Dead companion series. I’m probably excited, and scared, for this more than the upcoming season. While I generally enjoy the show there’s no denying that it is a very flawed show. With a loose following of the comic book there are things we know won’t happen. No matter how unpredictable the series wants to be we know certain things like Rick and Daryl will never be in any real danger. A new series could open things up a lot more.
Source- io9

blade
Wesley Snipes to do Blade 4?
Well this seemed inevitable. After Expendables 3 bombed at the box office Wesley Snipes is looking to get back to killing vampires in the Blade series. Considering how he looked in Expendables 3 I’d less adverse to this than I was before. It’s been years and he still has the swagger of an action star down pat. Add in the fact that superhero movies are at an all time high it seems like a no brainer. I do wonder how they could pull it off though. There hasn’t been an R-Rated Marvel movie since 2008’s Punisher: War Zone which didn’t exactly kill it at the box office. With Marvel now owned by Disney would they still go for the blood soaked, vampire killing romp or would they done things down? Obviously nothing is confirmed at the moment but it’ll be interesting to see how this plays out.
Source- Beyond Hollywood

blackadam
Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson Finally Reveals Shazam! Role
After endless teases it was finally revealed that The Rock will be playing Black Adam in DC’s upcoming Shazam! movie. While I don’t really care for Shazam I am really interested to see The Rock play a villain. We haven’t seen that since 2005’s Doom and even then he was a hero for the most part. Considering how good he was as a heel in wrestling this could turn out really great.
Source- Beyond Hollywood

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in News and Notes and Such and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

