RIP Robin Williams

QjM9sOQ

It’s weird. If you would have asked me about Robin Williams a week ago I would have been like “Yeah his movies suck” and not thought about him for another second. But the day, heck hours, after his death I found that I really will miss the guy. Like most people my age he played a massive role in my childhood with Aladdin (side note- I still think it holds up) and Mrs. Doubtfire. His manic energy and positivity that certainly connected with this 90’s kid.

But what really sticks out to me is 1982’s The World According to Garp. It was the mid 90’s and UPN was showing their Sunday afternoon movie. Usually older and sometimes cheesy this 4 hour block was the perfect place for lazy Sunday movie watching. So about halfway through I hear the announcer mention the name and that Robin Williams is in it and give it a shot. Holy Hell was I in for a surprise. The Genie accidentally kills one of his kids, writes a book about a woman who was raped and had her tongue cut out and he’s shot in the end??? What the hell am I watching? My 4th grade mind was completely blown. But what stuck with me, even then, was that Williams was a pretty good actor. This movie with the funny name blew my grade school mind but he gave a good performance.

That’s what I hope I’ll remember about Williams. He made his fair share of bad movies like all actors do. But it shouldn’t be forgotten that he was a damn fine actor. Winning an Academy Award for his role in Good Will Hunting he has more than proven his skill in movies like The Fisher King, Insomnia and One Hour Photo. When you get past the garbage like Old Dogs and Bicentenial Man he was a good actor. Heck after being nominated multiple times and winning an Academy Award I totally underrated him as a performer. Only in recent years did it really hit me how good he is with not only good dramatic acting but also good comedic acting like his appearance on Louie.

Honestly I don’t know where I’m going with this. Just rambling because, quite frankly, not quite sure how I feel about this. It’s just weird that one of the constants in my life is now no more. But with the outpouring and love and admiration seen the past 24 hours I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way.

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

