Douchebag Batman on Patrol- June 15, 2014

A new title? Whether it’s good or not I think we can all agree that it’s mad corny. Regardless lets get to this weeks news.


E3… just E3
So get this, lots of news came out of E3. The thing is despite being into video games I can’t say that a lot of it interests me. Don’t get me wrong the new Zelda looks beautiful and Pac Man in Smash Bros sure is wacky. But at the end of the day I highly doubt I will buy a Wii U and the chances of buying these games are even lower. That all said there was some cool news coming out of the expo. So lets go over these one by one.

1- Powers will finally come out but not on FX. It looks like the Playstation Network has exclusive rights to the long delayed show. From what’s been said so far it looks like this will be a hard reboot with a whole new cast. Shame because what little we got from the FX version looked promising.

2- First video of Doom came out and it looks awesome. With that said all we got was a teaser and no actual gameplay. But still given my love of the Doom franchise I am beyond hyped. At the very least they got the sweet click-clack of the shotgun in.

3- A Sonic the Hedgehog movie is going to happen. It will have humans in it because surely that won’t be creepy. I can guarantee you now that it will suck.

Sources- EW, Kotaku, IGN


New Constantine Trailer
Color me surprised. After a strong debut trailer Constantine still looks like it’ll kick major ass. From the look to the casting to… well everything. Besides a swear word or two it seems to have the Hellblazer comic down. I also absolutely love the appearance of the Dr. Fate helmet. Just a little bit more to expand the universe this is in. DC Comic movies may be a mess but they are killing it on TV.
Source- io9


Pacific Rim 2 Script in Development
Given nothing is solid as far as a release date or anything like that. But to hear that Guillermo del Toro is still focused on one of my favorite movies of 2013 is a good thing. It’s also interesting to hear it would be a proper sequel as opposed to a prequel like many assumed it could be. Where do we go with the schism in the ocean closed off? Are there remaining kaijus? Whole different enemies? Either way I can’t wait to see what del Toro has cooked up. In the mean time we can watch The Strain in July.

Source- Dread Central


Possible DC Comics Movie Schedule… and Aquaman
May 2016 – Batman v Superman
July 2016 – Shazam
Xmas 2016 – Sandman
May 2017 – Justice League
July 2017 – Wonder Woman
Xmas 2017 – Flash and Green Lantern team-up
May 2018 – Man Of Steel 2

Nikki Finke may be a bitch but there’s no denying she has a bit of Hollywood street cred. If this has any shred of truth to it it’s kind of insane. For example Sandman (I assume Neil Gaiman’s version) getting a movie after all these years is crazy to me. Even crazier is that not only Sandman but Shazam (A hero I find insanely redundant with Superman around) gets a movie before Wonder Woman. Then there are the questions of will The Flash in the movies be the same dude on the TV show? Will they even acknowledge the Ryan Reynolds movie? That last one is a joke, nobody should ever acknowledge that the Green Lantern movie ever happened.

In more solid news Jason Momoa was cast as Aquaman which I can’t say I agree with. When I think Aquaman I don’t think the guy in the Conan movie nobody saw. Shame because I legit like Aquaman. Despite his portrayal on things like Superfriends and Robot Chicken he’s actually pretty cool. The king of the scariest place on earth? That’s dope. Oh well one more nail in the “DC movies are a trainwreck” coffin.

Source- io9, Collider


New V/H/S: Viral Image
At first this may seem minor. But upon closer inspection you realize something amazing, these are practical effects. Not CG that will look outdated in a year but physical effects provided by Vincent Guastini (Under the Bed, Dogma). No matter what you think of the series there is something comforting about a popular film franchise that will rely on practical effects.

Source- V/H/S Facebook Page


Tons of Movie Trailers
Obviously trailers come out all the time. Heck I covered a trailer for a TV show above. But there were a few more I figured were worth mentioning.

Dumb and Dumber To– This just depresses me. Jeff Daniels and Jim Carey just look old and I can’t say I found the bits particularly hilarious. I could be wrong but at this moment I can’t say I’m stoked.

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For– Given this isn’t the first trailer but it’s the first I can say that was effective. While the first one felt a bit like a hype reel this actually told a bit of the story and made it wroth seeing.

Birdman– An arthouse flick about a guy who played a superhero and his attempt at a Broadway comeback? It stars Michael Keaton? Sign me up!

SourceYouTube

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in News and Notes and Such and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

