R.I.P. Fearnet

This week is going to suck.

Now I’m not sure if it’s the same for all cable companies but on June 14th Cox Cable will be dropping the Fearnet. I knew this was coming for a while. Around Mid-April news came out that Comcast bought out the shares from Lionsgate and Sony Pictures Entertainment and took sole ownership. It was then revealed that they will fold most of the programming into the Chiller and Syfy networks. After the announcement, nothing. The channel just continued on as if nothing was happening. While confused I was glad to have a channel I could casually turn to for horror programming. Unfortunately during Ghoulies 3 of all things Cox started playing a crawler notifying me that the channel and the On Demand service were being dropped on the 14th.


Now I’m sure this is putting way too much stock in a TV channel but this was a major blow to me. Since my family got digital cable Fearnet (particularly the On Demand service) has been a staple to me. Every month there would be a new selection of horror movies to watch for free. How insanely cool is that? It’s where I first saw The Blob remake and remember how insanely awesome (and corny) the first Wishmaster movie is. In a sea of useless On Demand channels it was an oasis of consistently good content.

Once the actual channel was introduced all bets were off. Not only were we given a channel that would show Battle Royale regularly but also regular programming. The biggest of which being the Tuesday block of Holliston and Todd and the Book of Pure Evil. Basically a non-sucky Big Bang Theory and the best show to come out of Canada not named Degrassi. It was funny and, more importantly, original programming that wouldn’t play anywhere else. They also provided, of all things, kids’ programming on Saturday morning. Like the days of old I could wake up early and watch bitching TV like Eerie, Indiana. Last, but certainly not least, was the inclusion of shows from around the world. How else would I have seen the Australian show Watch with Mother or the UK’s Inside No. 9?


At the moment the Fearnet Website and Facebook page are still active which is great. They are a great source for horror themed lists, news and short films. It’d be great to see it stay up and active. Not only does it give voices to some great horror writers (I’m not sucking up for a writing gig at all) but I think it’d be a great tribute to a unique network that will sorely be missed. At least we’ll have Chiller for… ummmmm…. Ripley’s Believe It or Not reruns.

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in Special and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to R.I.P. Fearnet

  1. Pingback: Douchebag Batman on Patrol- August 3, 2014 | The Further Adventures of Douchebag Batman

  2. Pingback: On Patrol- July 26, 2015 | The Further Adventures of Douchebag Batman

Leave a Reply

