News and Notes and Such

In a new feature I’ll over a variety of news in movies, TV and other random crap I’m interested in. So… lets begin.


Goodbye Edgar Wright
In some shocking news after 6 years on the project Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, The World’s End) dropped out as director of Marvel’s Ant-Man. Ignoring the fact that he spent so long on the movie he was pretty much the perfect choice for the movie. While a comedy director he was able to fuse action scenes into his movies beautifully. Add his personal love for the character and you have a match made in heaven. From what I’ve read it came down to creative differences and rewrites to his script. I’m utterly heartbroken since the dude has been golden with pretty much every script he’s ever written.

Since then a few names have been put out there as potential directors including Adam McKay (The Other Guys, Anchorman 1 & 2), Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland, Gangster Squad) And Rawson Thurber (We’re The Millers). McKay has already turned down the movie which I’m totally fine with because of the directors listed I’d like to see Fleischer get the job. He’s already shown that he can pull off action and clearly he knows how to handle comedy. At least it’d be a solid gig unlike him being offered Ghostbusters III which I assume will never happen.

Source- We Got This Covered, Collider


Josh Brolin Cast as Thanos
Good news for people that hate Batfflek (something I want to comment on later) Josh Brolin has been confirmed as Thanos in Guardians of the Galaxy (and I assume Avengers 3). Probably a good move considering how badly Oldboy did. Honestly I don’t have much to say about this. Thanos is awesome. Josh Brolin is awesome. Seems perfect to me. Considering this will be all CG it’ he’ll have to put on purple make up every day. Sad because Brolin the Friendly Purple Dinosaur would rule. Still great casting for a great role in a summer movie I’m totally hyped for.

Source- Newsarama


Community Not Quite Cancelled?
It was a sad day at Greendale when NBC decided to not renew Community. It was a heart breaking day for all Human Beings. There does seem to be light at the end of the tunnel though. There have been rumblings of Sony Pictures TV getting a 6th season shown on Hulu. The service currently has exclusive digital rights to the show and with Hulu wanting to expand its exclusive content so it makes sense. With that said it’s Hulu. Maybe it’s me but I just have a hard time taking it seriously. It’s where you go when Netflix, Epix and there’s nothing new on Netflix. There’s also the question on whether it will be streaming. I know it’s a silly question but Hulu has a lot of shows that you can’t stream like In Living Color. Maybe I’m old but watching shows on a computer is just irritating. Nevertheless it brings us closer to six seasons and a movie which would be amazing.

Source- CNN


Left Behind Trailer Released
Whatever your religious beliefs I think we can all agree on one thing, this looks pretty bad. Movies from The Asylum have had more thought put into them. At the very least I was able to learn about the lamprey in their latest offering. More importantly though I am utterly astounded by the reaction this has gotten on Facebook. There are apparently fans of the movies. So much so that there are people disappointed that Kirk Cameron isn’t in it. I’m utterly baffled by this because it isn’t like the dude is some amazing actor. Oh well if I’m willing to own the Universal Soldier movies this shouldn’t be a surprise

Also when a Nic Cage isn’t the most crazy thing about your movie something is up.

Source- We Got This Covered


Avatar Based Cirque Du Soleil Show
In other news nobody can tell me why this is happening let alone why this is happening 5 years after people stopped caring about Avatar.

Source- Deadline

Did I miss anything? Comments are always welcome and this totally isn’t e-begging. Well it is a bit.

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in News and Notes and Such, Special and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to News and Notes and Such

  1. Pingback: 2015 Summer Reviews- Superhero Movies | The Further Adventures of Douchebag Batman

Leave a Reply

