Top 6 Most Anticipated Movies of 2012

I don’t think I am in the minority in saying that 2011 was lackluster in terms of movies. No doubt that there was some good stuff (Young Adult, Warrior, etc) but it was generally mediocre. For every Drive there were at least two movies on par with Transformers 3. But fear not movie goers; 2012 is here and things are looking bright. Whether it’s Spider-man, Abraham Lincoln slaying vampires or Denzel Washington being Denzel Washington; there seems to be something for everyone. But with so many movies you may be wondering “What do YOU want to see?” To which I answer “Golly, you want to know what I want to see? Well I’m flattered.” And with that awful bit out of the way I would like to present my Top 6 Most Anticipated Movies of 2012.

*****


6- GI Joe: Retaliation
I have a shameful and dark secret. Something that has haunted me for the past few years. I kind of liked GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra. By no means was it good but for a dumb popcorn flick I thought it was perfectly acceptable. What I DIDN’T like was the use of weapons so stupid NERF was ashamed. If the preview is any indication this is gone and what we have a straight up action movie with The Rock being a total boss. What more could you want? How about ninjas fighting on the side of a mountain??? Yeah, they have that too. Throw in Bruce Willis playing John McClane 5.0 and you have a perfect concoction of stupid, testosterone filled action that just has to be seen.


5- The Expendables II
I was disappointed by The Expendables. I think there were a lot of really cool moments (Randy Couture vs Stone Cold in a RING OF FIRE!) but I didn’t feel that it delivered on the unsaid promise of being an 80’s action throwback. What we got was a select amount of absolutely awesome scenes mixed into mediocre, overproduced action. So why is it on my list?

4 words: JEAN CLAUDE VAN DAMME
To me Van Damme is a terribly under appreciated part 80’s action movies. To see him not just be in the movie but him being cast as the LEAD VILLAIN and I’m stoked. Throw in more screen time for Arnold, a rumored Donnie Yen and Chuck Norris and you have a movie that could easily surpass the original.


4- The Man with the Iron Fists
RZA. Pam Grier. Cung Le. Batista. Russell Crowe as THE BADDEST MAN ALIVE. In the past RZA (who is writing and directing) has had a way of producing and setting up an album cinematically. He was able to make gave the Wu Tang Clan releases a cinematic feel that few, if any, have been able to replicate. To have him finally get behind a camera is exciting for me. Not only that but you can clearly see a 70’s kung fu/Shaw Brothers influence in his music. The fact that he has respect for the genre has me breathe a sigh of relief with him tackling the kung fu genre. Add the fact that he has an absolutely insane cast (seriously BATISTA???!!!!) and you have a movie that has to be seen.


3- Avengers
In 2008 Marvel Studios released Iron Man to great critical and commercial praise. In a sea of comic movies this started a sprawling saga that went from World War II to Asgard. After 5 movies and 4 years it all culminates this summer in ultimate team-up movie, The Avengers. For me this movie is on here for purely nerdy purposes. Well all of them are in a way but Avengers is like the perfect storm of absolute geekiness. The premise, if you don’t know, is that all of the Marvel superheroes have to band together to stop a menace to any single hero. Writing and directing we have geek god Joss Whedon. The creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the origin of a million creepy and poorly written fanfics. Hell even the composer for the movie has geek cred with his work on Predator, Back to the Future and Who Framed Roger Rabbit. The Avengers the epitome of all things that are nerdy and I can’t wait.


2- Django Unchained
Tarantino delivers. I know there are haters out there who say he rips off other movies too much and hey, fair enough. I totally see where you’re coming from. With that said whether he was writing (True Romance) or directing (Reservoir Dogs) I have absolutely loved his movies. In Django Unchained Tarantino will be tackling the spaghetti western genre in the post-Civil War south. It’s such an off the wall premise that only Tarantino could not only think of it but make it work. With Leonardo DiCaprio, Christoph Waltz and Jamie Foxx already cast I am excited to see the coffin gatling gun come out one more time.


1- The Dark Knight Rises
Of all of the movies this should be the least surprising. I mean it’s Chris Nolan’s version of Batman. But of all the things I am most excited for one thing; his portrayal of Bane. Nolan has proven that he has his own familiar yet unique vision the all of the villains in the Batman mythos. One can only assume is that Bane won’t be any different. What I like is that unlike other interpretations is he is properly being shown as a terroristic mastermind as opposed to just muscle. Add in Anne Hathaway as a smoking hot Catwoman and its fun in a bun.

If nothing else we can have the battle of the goofy character voices between Tom Hardy and Christian Bale which sounds so much cooler than it should be.

*****

And there you have it, my top 6 movies to look forward to in 2012. Now I’m sure there will be tons of movies that will be full of drama, tragedy, and will give us a new insight to the human experience. But really why the heck would I want to see that when Batman is punching mofos???

SIDE NOTE-
Original plan was to do a dual post consisting of the Top 6 anticipated and the Top 6 of 2011. After seeing the best of 2011 in early 2012 I decided screw it and just do this. Anyway for those who care here is a quick rundown on what my choices would have been.

6- Sucker Punch
Sucker Punch had the perfect combination of amazing visuals and utterly retarded story. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no reason NOT to like it.

5- Young Adult
Diablo Cody can write! Not the random tween jargon from Juno but actually right!!! I thought Young Adult was a great character study of a woman who was stuck in high school. Charlize Theron absolutely makes the movie though. She’s just amazing.

4- X-Men: First Class
Comic movies ran the gamut this past year. From good (Captain America) to downright abysmal (Green Lantern). But above all of it was X-Men: First Class. Masterfully directed by Matthew Vaughn we got one of the best comic movies in quite some time.

3- Attack The Block
Comedy of the year. On par with Shaun of the Dead this sci-fi/comedy movie delivers from top to bottom. I particularly liked the casting in it. Also an absolutely cool and stylish look for the aliens in it.

2- The Other F Word
I grew up with punk music; from Green Day and The Offspring to Pennywise and the Sex Pistols. It appealed to the rebellious, anti-authority spirit I had. Of course I have grown up since. But what about the bands? How has it effected them??? With The Other F Word we see what it’s like, particularly parenthood. The ‘behind the curtain’ look we get here is spellbinding.

1- Drive
Drive is simply amazing. It gets everything right. Also it made Ryan Gosling a complete badass, a totally unfathomable idea before.

About Douchebag Batman

If you found this blog, I probably know you personally. Basically I'm using this for movie reviews, MMA previews, and the occasional wackiness from out of left field. Shout out to the horror short Welcome to the Party for the hella boss avatar. I'm not very good at selling this, am I? Anyway just check it out. You'll be filled with laughter. From my actual writing or realizing "Wow this guy needs an editor".
This entry was posted in Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

